Zoos are harmful for animals and should be banned, do you agree or disagree?

A matter of a considerable controversy is whether zoos are helping animals, or rather harming them, thus they should be banned. Strong arguments exist in favor of both points of view. This essay will discuss both sides of this debate before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

On the one hand, opponents of banning zoos argue against it for several reasons. First, zoos are considered a popular entertaining destination amongst children. Second, animals are safe in zoos, as they are treated regularly by experts. For example, The New York Times reported in March 2012 that a monkey in the national zoo, who suffered from a debilitating disease, was rescued by the zoo's vets. Accordingly, that makes it clear why the argument that zoos should not be banned could be plausible.

On the other hand, there are more convincing arguments in favor of banning zoos. Zoos violate animal rights, who are supposed to live freely in open spaces in their natural homeland, not in a cage in a zoo to entertain visitors. For instance, a study by Queens University found that 45% of lions who are in zoos are suffering from depression. Therefore, it can be easily seen that zoos are harmful and should be banned.

In conclusion, both sides of the argument have strong support. However, after analyzing both camps, I believe that zoos cannot be supported, as such, they are likely to produce more harm to animals in the future. It is recommended that children learn more about preserving animal rights in young age and go to field trips and safaris if they wanted to see the animals.