According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The passage suggests that more investments should be made for advertising Super Screen produced movies. As evidence, it has showed that the percentage of positive reviews has been increased, and so it has to be the lack of public awareness, not the quality of movies that is failing to attract viewers. Well, the research of the study cannot be disputed much, we might, however, question whether the study was representative enough to draw such broad conclusion. More research is needed to bolster the strength of this argument and to eliminate other possibilities like evaluating the quality of the movies and the biasedness of the reviewers.

The data presented lacks a depth of detail that would help us to evaluate the significance of the study results. How many people were surveyed? It just mentioned that the percentage of positive reviews has been increased but did not mention anything about what fraction is it of the total population. It also missed to mention the number of negative reviews. If 5 out of 100 people felt good about the movie where it was 4 out of 100 in the previous year, the figure is not surely statistically significant. The total number of participants is needed to know for determining the actual scenario that how many of them rated these movies as good and how many were dissatisfied.

Another leap in this argument is that it is confident about the quality of the movies while it does not shed any light about the means of their evaluation. Is the sound and picture quality good enough to be successfully shown in large screen? What about other features like animation and graphics? If they are not up to the mark, then people can easily find it unappealing by watching the trailer and will not eventually end up going to the theatre to watch that piece. So, without improving the quality of the movie, spending more on publicity alone will not entice viewers and the recommendation will be seriously weakened.

Further, there is no option to check the fact that the reviewers who gave positive reviews are unbiased and criticized it from a neutral ground. Also, it might be the case that they are the followers of super screen movies only and do not watch other categories of movies that much. In this case, it is not prudent to take a decision of investment solely depending upon the reaction of this pool of viewers.

While it may ultimately be the case that the proposition is sound and it will actually help to attract more viewers by allotting more budget on publicity, we cannot conclude this from the argument as it stands now. First, at a basic level, we need to know whether the existing data is statistically significant and sufficiently represented. There are other unexplored variables like verifying the non-partisan reviewers. The case can be also strengthened by evaluating the quality of the movies as it would help to determine whether the pursuit of the recommendation is worth funding.