Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The stated argument avers that there is a decline in population of the arctic deer because of global warming which debilitates the deer from migrating island to island over the solid pathways created by frozen sea. But the argument fails in providing sound evidence that might support the conclusion drawn from the stated assertions to be only possible explanation of the situation. Several evidence have varied impact on the plausibility of the argument.

To begin with, the statement details that the arctic deer search for food by moving over ice, but there is no fact stating that this is the only means of commute available. While this might appear plausible that only means for deer to get to other islands is through moving over the frozen sea, any evidence proving that any chain of small islands or land that might aid in this migration does not exist in the area. The deer might be able partly swim and walk over these tiny sporadic pathways of land to migrate to other islands.

Additionally, as it has been mentioned that at least for some time of the year habitat of deer is areas with cold temperature only points that these dear might not be able to survive the colder regions of ice over frozen sea. Evidence stating that these dear are not demised by the temperature of the ice itself would have eradicated this possible explanation for the decrease in deer population.

Moreover, as stated that reports have been collected from hunters, these hunters might be giving false reports only to sustain their covert excessive hunting. There is a good possibility that these hunters might be the only reason for decrease in number of these deer. There is no fact to substantiate that the hunting of these deer has not increased in the area. Or any number indicating the consistent population of hunters and hunting rate in the area would have strengthened the argument by eliminating the possible explanation of excessive hunting.

Conclusively, the argument has tried to provide a plausible explanation for the situation but is underdeveloped and the facts are distorted. Therefore a further substantiation with specific evidence might help in eliciting the right cause for decline the number of arctic deer.