Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material—which includes paper, plastic, and metal—should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted.

The author recommends that although consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill would be completely filled within five years, the author asserts that the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted. To support this recommendation, the author points out because our town's strongly guaranteed to recycle and the amount of recycled material will increase. This recommendation might seem logical and species, at the first glance, but the writer of this argument relies on a series of doubtful assumptions to support his claim that I will distinguish them below.

A threshold problem with the argument involves that the argument overlooks the fact that the correlation between population growth and the garbage disposal. In other words, it is possible that the population dramatically increased, as a result, even the amount of recycled material increased, it does not any affect the amount of disposal. Hence, the writer does not address complete details about the amount of the recycling, he cannot conclude that recycling is twice compared to past.

One more problem with the argument is that we are not informed about the survey's details. In fact, the author states that over 90 percent of respondents would do more recycling in the future based on the recent survey. There is not any information about the number of respondents, the situation of the survey, and so forth. Perhaps, this survey consists of special people who have a penchant for recycling only because they produce the recycled materials. Accordingly, because the writer does not bring the details about the survey, I simply cannot accept the author claim.

Another problem with this argument is that there is not any information about the new policy for increasing the charges of pickup of other households. In fact, we cannot confide this policy owing to some reasons. Firstly, if the government established it, probably it causes people to make widespread complaints, and subsequently, numerous unsatisfied people force the government to change it. Secondly, we cannot be sure about what happens when the policy runs. Maybe, people do not have any problem to increase the charges. Hence, because we cannot predict the future and the author only conclude based on some assumptions about new policy, this assertion cannot be valid.

To put a nutshell, despite the argument suffers from numerous flaws, we cannot completely accept the author claim or refuse it, unless the author provides more information about mentioned flaws. Without them, the argument is unconvincing and implausible.