The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

During history, everyone has been engaged a strong struggle to recognize himself. A controversial question regarding this issue is whether rejecting of the familiar is the first step to self-knowledge or not. Some people are inclined towards the opinion that because people's personalities are formed separately, the best way to self-knowledge is a rejection of the familiar. But I, despite the general consensus, disagree with this statement due to some reasons. In what follows, I will aptly explain my viewpoints.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that hardly can anyone deny the fact children are influenced where they live, and subsequently, their personalities and special features are shaped. In other words, how their parents live directly affect how they live, and subsequently, what is acceptable for their parents becomes what children’ beliefs in the future. In addition, if they come across the opposite views, they consider them as some ironic allusions. Hence, these primary characteristics become the main part of their personalities which hardly can be changed. As a result, if people want to start to recognize themselves, firstly, they should become familiar with their families.

Another equally significant point to be mentioned is that the familiar plays a pivotal role in shaping the talents of people. In other words, parents' talents and capabilities inherently will permeate the children. If one person wants to become successful in his profession, he should first become familiar with his parents. The best musicians, artists, leaders, and so forth are the people who have the familiar with a similar feature.

In a nutshell, contemplating all above-mentioned, one soon having the profound impacts on children and conveying some talents inherently to children, both, are the main reason why everyone wants to start self-knowledge, firstly should inform about familiar.