Only once one has known real sadness can one feel true happiness.

I wholeheartedly agree with this claim, that only once one has known real sadness can one feel true happiness.

Although both happiness and sadness are both relative and subjective terms, they both lie on two extreme, opposing ends of the scale, with contentedness being in the middle.

Now, one cannot possibly quantify how happy or sad they are, yet we can contrast it with an opposing emotion. In this case, sadness is the extreme opposite of happiness, and vice versa.

Similarly, one cannot define darkness as such. We cannot define it as the presence of something but rather, as the absence of light.

Likewise, happiness can be stated as the absence of sadness, of a morbid situation where nothing goes your way.

Thus, if one does not know what true sadness is, they cannot possibly know what true happiness is, either.

Also take note, the word “true” in preceding happiness. Sure, one person who has been content their entire life can experience some for of happiness. Suppose content is a zero on the scale, then happiness is to the right of zero. If one was not aware of negative numbers, than the range would be only zero to happiness. However, with sadness to the left of zero, we now have “negative” numbers. Thus, the entire range of emotions can go from sadness to happiness. In this sense, the range has doubled and one can know “true” happiness.

Just as happiness needs sadness, light needs darkness, pleasure needs pain, good needs evil. It even takes noise to appreciate silence. If we live our entire lives with only noise, we may accept it as a way of life. However, if someone is exposed to the stark contrast of silence, he can finally appreciate what they have been missing out their entire lives. Only than will we not be satisfied with just being content, we will strive to achieve the better of the two extremes, we will endeavour with all our willpower to attain true happiness only when we know what sadness really is. Without contrast, one cannot possibly appreciate something to it’s fullest. And without appreciation, there is no value.