To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people believe that we must study major cities of a society in order to penetrate the prominent characteristics of the society. However, there have been many societies that was explained by a person, not by its major cities. Thus, I disagree with the given statement.

A accomplished scientist, Thomas Edison, could be a proper example of person who represents the society of the era when people were struggling to utilize electronic better. Edison was one of scientists who were inventing many devises for people in America. In the period, whole society was shocked when lightbulb was adverted, it was stunning devise to all. However, lightbulbs were evernescent and expensive, moreover, it was difficult for contemporaries to develope more efficient lightbulb that only moneyed people and government facilities were able to use them. However, thanks to Edison’s unrelenting effort, a knew long-lasting and inexpensive lightbulb showed up to the society. As we can see, a single person lights the society with his great effort and help understand the society’s characteristics, also.

Another example is a leader, Kim Dae Jung, a past president of South Korea. South Korea was severe divided country and still the only country which is seperated. In the past, when Kim Dae Jung was a president, North Korea was in adverse economy condition and relationship between North and South was abysmal that it necessarily required greate strategy. However, Dae Jung started to endorse North Korea with many foods and clothes in order to solve the deprivation of North Korea. Dae Jung struggled until his retirement, due to his neverenging effort, two country made successful conference and Dae Jung won the Nobel Prize, finally. Dae Jung help world to understand political issue of North and South Korea.

In summary, not like other people, I believe it has been a person not cities that explain the society’s characteristic more better.