To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Society basically constitutes of culture or lifestyle followed by people in the particular state or country. The way of thinking, language spoken, dressing, food habits, financial conditions, development process of the area everything plays equally important role in the study of characteristics of the society. Each factor is equally important. In my view, the most important features of society cannot be understood by studying its major cities because the essence of the true culture of the society can be understood only by studying the area where it is still followed.

Consider, a major city Paris. If a woman comes to a Starbucks, with a classy dress and expensive bag , you will not be able to judge the characteristics of Paris by her appearance or behavior. You can encounter lady like her in every other major city as this has become a trend in most of the developed city. Paris can tell you about fashion, garment industry who has roots in some other country. So, to find out about the french culture one should do research on the places where the culture still pertains which is the small cities where maximum population speaks french.

Moreover, due to increment of job opportunities available in the major cities people of different country travel to those cities. This results in amalgam of culture in big cities or it can be implied that there is unity in diversity in major cities as people of all the different cultures are living. Extensive excavations in Pakistan led to discovery of mohenjodaro culture. But, earlier people were confined to one city only. So, it was possible earlier that studying major cities would give proper understanding of the culture. But, this does not hold true in today's rapidly developing world.

So, it can be concluded by the bulk of examples given that study of major studies would not give a clear and full understanding of the culture of a society.