Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

It is well said that "Knowledge is not limited". In general, humans have curiosity to gain information about anything he comes across. This tendency is more common in students as they are more enthusiastic to imbibe things around them. In my views students should be allowed to take variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Let us consider, a classroom full of students who are studying the courses of their field. There are times when students get bored due to this monotonous routine of theirs and want to study something different which will break this humdrum routine. This will also help them in concentrating in their own field of study as their mind will be fresh. Moreover, they will learn new things and maybe they can find that they are very good in the other courses which they opted rather than their own field of study.

Nowadays, this is a very common case in graduation school or with the engineering students that their area of specialization is electrical but they get jobs in computer science field. This is a very common case in a country like India. Students are trained in a specific field but due to lack of job opportunities they are placed in some other industry which is having copious job opportunity. So, in this scenario it helps the students if he is having some knowledge of other fields also apart from his own field.

Also, there is no harm in having some extra knowledge apart from the particular field of study. Knowledge never goes in vain. If we see the current scenario engineers are becoming entrepreneur or even actors. To be more precise, this is possible only if one is having slight idea of other fields also. Many universities and schools have introduced this kind of curriculum in which students can opt for other fields apart from their regular academic field. So, that students can gain knowledge of various fields apart from their field.

The above evidences clearly states that university should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study due to the above mentioned reason.