Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, with the proliferation of technology, the impacts of advertising have been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this trend has a whole host of drawbacks, its merits still overshadow.

There are many reasons why people think that advertisements are prone to cause irritation. First, since customers are regularly induced by advertisement, they have a tendency to buy more unnecessary items. This means glossy images and repetition strategies from advertising campaigns evoke potential customers’ curiosity, thus they are inclined to waste money and get into debt when buying unaffordable products. Second, in order to attract audience’s attention, these companies can use advertisement on mass media and digital marketing channels at high frequency. For example, people can receive a great number of junk emails or advertisement at prime time, they are interrupted from their favourite programs, which causes a certain frustration to the audiences.

On the other hand, benefits of advertising should be taken into consideration. First, advertisement provides a wide variety of products, which meets shopping demands of the majority of people. This means customers easily look for information with assistance of advertisements, they can spend more time on family and friends, thereby significantly improving the quality of life. Second, if advertising agents gain more profit from their business, they can help to flourish the national economy. In fact, when companies become more successful in the industry, they can create more employment opportunities, which is conducive to the sustainable economic development.

In conclusion, the importance of advertisement in our life is undeniable. By considering the effective solutions, media agents cannot cross the line and show transparency in the advertisement to audiences.