Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now "one big traffic jam".

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their car?

In the age of development, cars have become easier and more common for humans to own resulting in the issue of congestion in different areas around the world for three decades. To some extent, this statement has already been verified in real life and this essay will discuss this problem. Besides, some suggestions will be proposed to governments in order to reduce the number of ownership.

It is true to say that the number of vehicle ownerships directly relates to traffic volume on the street and this can be the main cause for the traffic jams occurring in many cities. For thirty years, cities have been ideal areas for constructing buildings where they can be used to be offices for various famous businesses, so there are numerous cars used in the urban areas due to the nature of work. Most office workers, nowadays, buy their own cars with the view to freedom of commuting and expressing their social positions, therefore, leading to the rapid increase in the number of vehicles on the road.

Furthermore, heavy congestion happens mostly because of the awareness of the majority who use their private vehicle when some car owners might have the perception of not adhering to traffic rules. Their behaviour is expressed through their actions, such as: encroaching on the lane and crossing red light, which negatively influence other participation on the road. As a result, if everyone keeps their wrong attitude when participating in traffic, it is inevitable that the issue of traffic jams has become inferior.

In conclusion, in order to resolve this problem, the government should encourage residents to use public transportations like buses or taxis instead of their private car so that the traffic jam issue can be reduced significantly because of the ownership reduction. However, using public vehicles might bring them inconvenience, so these kinds of transportation should be developed to help people have excellent experiences when they use public vehicles.