Drug abuse is becoming more and more common in many countries. What are some of the problems associated with drug abuse, and what are some of the possible solutions?

At the present time, drug addiction is an alarming threat to any society in the world owing to the growing number of drug users. Although this phenomenon has caused several vexed consequences, they could be addressed by a number of appropriate remedies.

It is undeniable that a considerable part of the society, especially teenagers are now falling prey to drug abuse. As people have become increasingly more dependent on drugs and its production has expanded worldwide, many related troubles have emerged. One leading reason is that these products, especially the illegal and the synthetic, have become more accessible than before. Obviously, drug dealers have expanded their territories in many countries, and their control has become far more challenging than in the past. Furthermore, once people get addicted, they can easily lose control, hence the higher crime rates. Therefore, societies have turned into less secure and people’s sense of anxiety has grown. Further complications might include a rise in health problems and the mounting conflict between drug addicts and their families.

There are several measures that governments could perform to mitigate the aforementioned issues. The first, crucial solution would be to consider more severe charges for those selling these dreadful products and tighten the sanctions to control the expansion of illegal drugs’ industries and the number of crime. A second measure should be to increase citizen awareness about the adverse results of drug abuse by providing propaganda campaigns at schools, universities and other public places. Finally, relatives and counsellors of drug victims, as well as the whole society, should encourage and give them considerable support, which can help them recover and regain their lives.

In conclusion, the government, as well as society, should take various measures to tackle the problems, to protect its people from this menace.