Effect of school bullying on children

Many people are not aware of the serious effects of bullying on children. Originally, parents think that a child merely wanted to set up a well-known identity in school, however, everything seems more worst. These opinions are extremely detrimental to the development and safety of children. In fact, being bullied at school can lead to social, psychological, and educational issues for young people.

First and foremost, bullying reduces children’s capability to connect with society. A result of regularly being bullied at school is that it can cause high levels of social anxiety and be isolated. For example, a little girl was threatened that her hair would be shaved, she always feels nervous and afraid to engage in group activities where includes the students might hurt her. Further traumatically, if the children who are bullied could not speak their mind to adults, keep it as a secret, and let those behaviors going on day in and day out. Another significant negative impact that has been reported in children is psychological issues. Some of the children become depressed and obsessed after being bullied at school. When children experience bullying, they tend to become emotionally departed. In many cases, they were already quiet, introverted, and self-contained, they may become even more so, to the point where they have trouble interacting with others. Regular exposure to hurt, shame, and social isolation may cause them to sink deeper into their own space. In the worst-case, the bully-victim may even be at increased risk of suicide.

One should not forget, the most visible and immediate effect is disturbing students' education at school. Feeling unsafe leads to being unable to focus on learning at school can have its own long term impacts. For example, children decide to stay away from school to avoid being bullied. As a result of being consistently bullied, many children tend to move to a better environment, besides, others even drop out of school because they can not bear the obsession called ' being bullied'.

In conclusion, school bullying is always an unpleasant experience for any children. Parents and adults need to be more alert and provide positive support for children in emergent cases. Especially during childhood, when mental damage can affect their whole life, carers should put more attention to children about their behavior and emotion.