Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed by some that only the government should be responsible for the preservation of the environment. Nevertheless, I completely disagree with this viewpoint as both the government and each individual should be involved in this issue together. The justifications for this are as follows.

On the one hand, it is true that there are some problems impossible for individuals to deal with. To embark on, such severe issues as prolonged droughts, violent storms, and other extreme weather conditions can merely be effectively tackled with the aid of many politicians and national organizations as solving them requires cutting-edge technology and large numbers of skilled, experienced scientists cooperating. For instance, it takes years for researchers to collect various samples, analyze huge amounts of data in order to find out the major causes of global warming, thereby coming up with the most feasible solutions to combat this problem.

On the other hand, every single person should also be encouraged to take part in the fight against environmental degradation. This is because without the assistance and unanimity of individuals, environmental issues will never be successfully mitigated. A salient example is that many people continue acts of deforestation despite the government’s regulations, which results in losses of natural habitats and then an ecological crisis. Various species of flora and fauna, hence, are put on the brink of extinction.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my state that protecting the environment is the obligation of not only politicians but also individuals.