Evaluate a public place. Suggest how it could be made more appealing.

The Old Quarter - a huge change for the stability

Old Quarter is a large historical area which tourists cannot skip when visiting Hanoi. It has 36 streets which have been told many folk poems and tales since thousands years ago. However, the place has become extremely chaotic and polluted area which has been brought about by the population increase and the local government’s irresponsibility. This essay will describe the Old Quarter features, and according to that, the author will also give some recommendations to the city authorities that they can apply to tackle these issues.

First and foremost, the Old Quarter is a crucial zone of Hanoi city which is located at the heart of the city where contains a collection of ancient buildings and houses. The area is also the national political and public administration center of Vietnam. That is the reason which explains why it has a great number of modern and luxurious architectures. They include the governmental offices and international hotels, such as, National Convention Center and Hilton or Melia hotel. Additionally, crowded streets, cramped roads, and small pavements are one of the stand out components which created the unique features of the Old Quarter, for instance, Hang Ma street is a distinctive picture which represents the tradition of Hanoi’s 36 streets.

Equally important, the Old Quarter has the lakeside road system which is closed for walking in the weekend, thereupon, tourists and local people who are alike have been attracted to come there for enjoying “Hanoi’s spirit”. The majority of roads and streets are small and narrow, thus, there is not enough space for pedestrians. Sadly, it is not easy to find support when you are travelling here because the lack of information providing points in this central zone of the capital. Besides this disappointment, the citizens and visitors have been suffered terribly by the dirt and pollution which are owing to the city authorities’ poor management on protecting the environment and current traffic state. Plus the immense increasing in number of cars, the situation has become increasingly severe in recent years. Clearly, this area need to be reformed and changed to improve and conserve its historical values, actually, that is not only in foreign tourists’ assessment, but also in local people’s eyes.

Accordingly, there are some solution which can help the city address the issues aforementioned. Firstly, the government should quickly improve the traffic quality by encouraging the development of the public transportation system surrounding the area, such as metro or buses. Moreover, prohibiting private motorbikes and cars should be cautiously scrutinized to limit them from entering the city center following a daily schedule. Secondly, designing and building more new “Hanoi booths” which will provide information for foreigners and domestic tourists. Furthermore, these will promote the tourism service at the capital’s heart areas. One more thing, the government has to prepare drastically for expanding Old Quarter’s pavements as the purpose of enhancing the city’s sightseeing. The procedure might not easy to operate, but it is critical to the city’s quantum lead, and by virtue of this, the government has to satisfy short term benefits before they can completely overcome these problems.

In conclusion, the Old Quarter is playing a great role in the development of Vietnam’s capital city where the changing reflection of the country has been represented. Unfortunately, the abundance of cultural, political and economic values of the nation which are subsisting in and around this area are in emergency on account of the pollution, traffic jam and lack of space. Accordingly, managing the transportation and private vehicles is necessary to increase the air and traffic quality. Furthermore, Hanoi’s city council should consider the ideas which are expanding the pavement systems and providing more support points to help maintain all these wonderful national heritages. All these solutions will be the key factor to the stability of the national capital.