The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As technology develops, humanity introduces new ways of improving and simplification its life. One of such invention is a car which is nowadays considered to be the most comfortable means of transport, that is why in many countries there are milions of vehicles on the roads. In my view, such state of affairs may be a cause for some actual problems and is to be controlled by the governments.

To begin with, the availability of cars to any class of society not depending on the income level has already resulted in air-pollution, overcrowding in the streets and quite usual car accidents. Gas emissions commited by vehicles led to the lack of fresh air; overcrowded streets caused continious traffic conjestions; thousands of people become victims of car crashes daily. However, safer and more environment-friendly vehicles already exist. Consider, for instance, bicycles: they do not attribute to early listed troubles. The Netherlands as a great example should be mentioned: the government of the country strives to encourage citizens to utilize bikes instead of car in order to decrease negative effects of vehicles. Possibly, this is the reason why the Netherlands is often named as one of the most clear and safe in terms of transport country.

Obviously, the humanity is to deal with consequences of an growing usage of cars, and the way to do is through international laws. Increase of taxes on cars or fuel, for instance, may be a great regulator of car ownership. As an example, Germany has already practiced high taxes on non-ecological vehicles and this experience seems to be effective as the rate of pollution in this country is quite low. In order to capture the whole world (not only particular regions) international law is to introduce in every continent.

To conclude, I feel mankind has to deal with the challenge of the large amount of cars on the roads as it leads to numerous unpleasant consequences. There are two general ways to do it through encouraging other means of transport or introducing laws to decrease availability of cars among society. Moreover, such methods have already been experinced by some countries and effects are beneficial.