In the future, it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people in some countries. Is this positive or negative development?

Thanks to great advances in health services and people’s living conditions have improved, now the average life expectancy of a person increased significantly. Nevertheless, experts have defined that this trend will bring harmful impacts on society in the future. In my perspective, I totally agree with their view but I believe that this tendency also has useful effects and they will be outlined in this essay.

On the positive side, non-profit and charity organisations will have a large of members. I mean, the old who are financially comfortable and much free time willing to attend community projects to enhance their neighbourhood and society. For example, we can easily see old people in developed countries engage in charity works such as providing food and roof for the homeless, collecting waste, etc. That, in fact, not only create high values for their community but also instil a great sense of responsibility and altruism into the young generation. Secondly, countries with a higher proportion of senior people mean they have a more experienced and highly educated workforce. They can easily research or operate automatic machines to improve labour productivity. This makes a huge contribution to the economy in general.

On the other hand, like two sides of a coin, this phenomenon will produce many pressures. One of those is that lays great stress on the budget’s government because the government will have to pour very much money into health service, building nursing homes, etc. and tax-payers will have to bear a greater financial burden and the youth who are of working age will have to worker harder and care the elderly at the same time. Furthermore, the lack of a young labour workforce would cause stagnation for the growth of the economy and technological innovation. As a matter of fact, many first world countries whose proportion of senior citizens is higher than that of young people, such as Japan, are experiencing these undesirable effects.

In conclusion, the state of an ageing population in some countries can bring some certain benefits. However, in the near future, it definitely causes terrible drawbacks to that countries and I think that the government should take steps to avoid falling into this situation.