Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is considered by some that governments should focus on building railways and spend less on constructing roads. I agree with the idea that authorities ought to allocate more funds in railways construction as it provides faster and safer transportation than main raids and is less toxic to the environment.

The main reason why government budget on railways should be on top priority is because trains transport people from one area to another in less amount of time. By contrast, in roads, commuters faced difficulties such as being stuck on a traffic or being involved in a road traffic accident. Riding train saves valuable time that can be spend in increasing productivity of an individual.

Another point to consider is that trains are the safest mode of transportation by land. According to the recent study, recorded accident and injuries in railways are around 5 percent as opposed to the main roads which accounts for 50 percent. This only shows that trains offers assurance to the passengers that they will arrived to work without difficulties and will reached their homes safely.

Finally, trains are environmental-friendly compared to vehicles. Railways are operated by underground or on the land using electricity as the main source of energy. This means that there will be no harmful carbon monoxide that will be released to the air. Vehicles, however, produces smokes that is detrimental; not only to human but to ozone layer aswell.

In conclusion, I agree that the national government should prioritize building railways than main roads as it has more benefits for its citizen and the environment.