Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and
large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or
disagree?
It is true that governments and big business have a critical role to play in
improving the environment. While some argue that individuals are therefore
powerless to help combat environmental degradation, I completely disagree with
this view.
On the one hand, both governments and large enterprises can and should take
steps to prevent an ecological crisis. From a government perspective, policies
must be enacted and enforced internationally. These must cover a wide range of
issues, such as the protection of endangered species, a halt to habitat destruction,
and funding research into alternative energy sources, to reduce our dependence
on fossil fuels. In terms of corporate responsibility, producers should not
discharge toxic chemical waste into rivers or the sea and they must cut down on
emissions from factories to fight climate change. They should also aim to
achieve sustainable development by not depleting natural resources, for example
by deforestation.
On the other hand, there are many actions that individuals can take to care for
the environment. These include changing patterns of consumption. For
instance, products which are environmentally friendly, such as green detergent
brands, are widely available in the shops, so that it is easy to change buying
habits. Buying local products is another option, reducing food miles. A different
type of action is to join one of the organisations in the green movement, like
Greepeace. Individuals can help these groups to raise funds to protect plants and
animals on the brink of extinction and to strengthen campaigns for government
interventions and initiatives.
In conclusion, while governments and corporations carry a great responsibility
for alleviating environmental problems, individuals have a significant role to
play. I therefore totally disagree that individuals are powerless to contribute
towards saving the planet.