A knowledge of maths is not important for most jobs nowadays. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Mathematics is an important subject that everyone learns in school. However, in our modern days, is it really a useful tool for most jobs? In my view, I agree that maths is no longer vital for most jobs, although still remains critical for some industries.

To begin with, there are lots of employments that no longer require maths knowledge. Employees do not need to perform calculations like adding up bills and calculating percentages while at work. These basic works are done by technologies such as electronic tills and computers. For instance, computer programs that can calculate invoices and future sales forecasts eliminated the necessity of doing manual calculations. As a big portion of the population is working these sort of jobs it would be fair to say that mathematics is not required to perform their duties. Also, less traditional fields such as arts, acting and literature do not rely on maths knowledge at all.

Despite this, it is important to note that there are and always will be some people who will need mathematics for their jobs. Fields such as engineering and architecture require a wide knowledge of mathematics. It would be impossible for an architect to design buildings without using maths. I believe this particular job cannot be solely performed by computers or programs since one small glitch in the system would end up ruining all project. Therefore, people who are working in such areas always need to check calculations by themselves.

In conclusion, with advance technology, mathematics is getting less and less vital for many jobs. However, it is still necessary for some areas.