Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

Because of the boom of technology, there is a multitude of technically advanced gadgets which can supersede traditional equipment, for example, computers. It has invariably been a controversial issue over whether public libraries preservation is worth investing money in since the rapid development of information technology. As far as I am concerned, I strongly support the belief that computers do wonders for reading, however, libraries are absolutely not a waste of money.

On the one hand, there is a tremendous variety of benefits given by computers to the public. An apparent merit is e-books are much more convenient compared to their paper counterpart. Numerous paper-based books consist of a considerable extent of knowledge, for instance, encyclopedia or novels. Hence, they are extremely heavy and difficult for the readers to carry, especially severals one at a time. Meanwhile, a large diversity of content on the Internet is stored online, including books. It follows naturally that the users can have an access to various genres of books they want to read simultaneously without having to carry all of them. Moreover, it is more time-saving when only with a search for titles on social network can readers acquire their desired books, incompation with manual searching in libraries. Secondly, the online books’ content maintenance is superior than traditional ones. An unequivocal rationale is e-books are not prone to hostile weather conditions such as drizzling rain or high temperature, thus, they are more secured. Books’ preservation may endure for a long time unless the information is eliminated by the uploaders on the Internet.

Nevertheless, I also advocate that libraries create a myriad of positive influences on our life that worth taking into account. What makes libraries stand out is their sentimental values. To be more specific, there are several irreplaceable properties only belong to traditional books such as the renowned authors’ autographs or books’ limited editions, especially of synonymous ones. Having those kinds of assets might promote people’s spiritual life by providing them with satisfactoriness in terms of emotions. Another obvious justification is reading paper books does not require Internet, therefore, the lack of Internet connection would not be a major hurdle. This would bring out more opportunities for participants who want to expand their horizon through reading. In other words, Internet shortage would not harm the prospects of healthy reading habit among people, especially socially disadvantaged citizens.

With all the justifications I mentioned above, I firmly comprehend the tremendous significance of technology in nurturing regular reading habit, while I also deem that public places for reading own a host of functions that can not be substituted by computers.