In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they be punished?

Juvenile delinquency has obviously witnessed an upward trend recently in many countries all over the world. There are an array of reasons behind this phenomenon and several punishments can be adopted to stamp out the problem.

There are two major reasons why there has been an increase in the rate of crimes which are conducted by adolescents. What holds the utmost importance is the consequence of social issue and poverty. To be more specific, poor living standard tends to push people into resorting to property-triggered crime namely burglary or shoplifting. Besides, the lack of education is also a contributor for an increasing number of teenagers committing crimes. It is a fact that parents who are always on the go with work are less likely to give their children proper care and fail to direct them on the right path. Hence, the child might become poor prepared and educated for the obstacles in life and be easily tempted into breaking the laws by bad peers.

In my opinion, children and teenagers who demonstrates gross misconducts have to be strictly punished. Firstly, despite the severity of the unlawful actions, young violators should be penalized in the same manner to adults, as in imprisonment, which deters potential young criminals from violating the law. Besides, they should be granted less privilege when their penalty is over. Secondly, parents should spare more time instructing their children morally by delivering ethical lessons, or they can ask children’s peers to report suspicious behaviors at school so that timely measures can be adopted to preclude the worst case scenario.

In a nutshell, it is clear that teenagers turning to a career of crime is an alarming phenomenon and parents should be the ones involving in children’s life and providing them correct life guidance