Many people join distance-learning programmes (study material, post, TV, Internet) and study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefit as attending colleges or universities does.

Nowadays with the dramatic development of the Internet, distance-learning curriculums have been more and more popular. There is a fact that these programs have received a large number of people interested in it. Despite being an important alternative to formal education, it is not as beneficial as attending a traditional class, as far as I am concerned.

First of all, formal teaching is a wonderful method for learning because, from these mistakes which they have when attending college, students can have self-awareness and learn from these ones. Besides that, instructors who have extensive experience in dealing with students from different backgrounds can correct and guide them to figure out all the problems according to the capacity of each student. In contrast, in the distance learning method, this is completely missing and thus the effect is less productive. Additionally, studying in a traditional way will give opportunities for the students to interact and gain skills from other classmates, which is not possible if they are sitting in front of a computer or a TV.

On the other hand, the distance learning method has much weakness which is caused by the convenience and popularity of the internet itself. It requires a high focusing and self-motivated from students because it happens in the cases without the appearance of teachers. For example, young students can lose their attention because of many games online, music videos or thrilling movie series, etc. They will over time develop bad study habits and waste their time and money. Moreover, when sitting in front of the computer for several hours, students may be suffered from eye or spine diseases.

In the conclusion, by looking at facts, the formal teaching method has many outstanding advantages for students. While distance learning can be a modern trend, it can never be the same as studying at a college or university.