Modern technology now allows rapid and uncontrolled access to and exchange of information. Far from being beneficial, this is a danger to our societies.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

(Sample: IELTS Mentor)

It is a fact that with advanced technologies, we could easily access and exchange information about an individual or an organisation through the internet. Although some people think that it is beneficial, others believe that it brings more threat to every individual's safety. The following essay will discuss it in details.

It is true that we are living in a high technology era, where as information about persons, companies, states and even countries are stored online. With this technology, people could easily obtain and swap information with others. For certain people, they believe this advanced technology is beneficial for them, as it has assisted them in accomplishing their projects. For example, when a secret agent needs to investigate a murder case, he might need some personal information about the victim's relatives and friends. And with online technology, he could easily get all the required information, which will help him in solving the case.

Despite all the benefits, uncontrolled access and exchange of information have some negative effects on our lives. It is reported that it has been frequently used by certain people for criminal activities. One of the common examples is about credit card database. Many credit card pins are stolen and used inappropriately. And then, sometimes an individual database is also hacked, as his personal database is used for any illegal acts by the hacker himself.

In conclusion, to a certain point, I would agree that easy access and exchange to information have some advantages for our lives, but we should never forget that it has many disadvantages as well. I personally believe that there should be some clear regulation about it and the government should monitor it strictly.