Movies and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people say they have a negative effect on society and should be censored. Others say they are just harmless relaxation. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The industries of entertainment have experienced an enormous increase of popularity and have changed throughout the history. Violent films and computer games that are enjoyed a lot by many people, are believed to be harmful and need to be limited by laws and restrictions, while some still tend to see them as a safe method to rest. Although brutal visuals can effect certain players, I believe that they help to prevent many crimes from happening.

On the one hand, sensitive people can be traumatised by the images containing violence. It means that many children might suffer from phobias in their future after they experience fear watching a horror movie. This is why there has to be more ways of preventing potentially harmful content being seen by mentally vulnerable youngsters and adults. For example, HSE scientific community claimed that a participant of the experiment, who had troubles with overreacting to stress situations, faced sleeping issues after playing Until Dawn. Therefore, the accessibility of brutal and aggressive videos and games should be limited as they might cause harm to certain groups of people.

On the other hand, computer games serve as a deterrent for teenagers who can express their anger without hurting anybody. This is because murder of a virtual character is not against the law; and the hormones of the developing organism will not lead to an actual crime. Therefore many potential criminals decide to indulge in online shooters without resorting to violence in real life. For instance, the Moscow police reports demonstrated a significant drop in the number of murder attempts in 1995 upon the introduction of computer games to Russia. Thus, digital violence is a great tool to fight actual aggression and damage.

Even though savage content can cause mental harm to some people, I am of an opinion that many others use it to express emotions without real violence and damage to society.