Nowadays it is not only large companies that can be able to make films. Digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that the advent of technology allows not only professional companies but also other filmmakers to produce films. While this has several benefits, I believe that overall the drawbacks are more significant.

Admittedly, the positive effect of this trend is that it encourages amateur filmmakers to pursue their dreams. A colossal number of film producers today want to make their own film, but they are thwarted with different obstacles such as lack of finance or insufficient human resources. Therefore, digital technology affords filmmakers opportunities to make their desire a reality and prove their qualification. For instance, a Vietnam film called “The third wife” produced by an independent filmmaker won Netpac Award for World or International Film Premiere in Toronto Festival, 2018. Not only is this film a hit with audiences and critics but also it proves the fact that anyone can make a high-quality film as long as they have a strong desire.

Despite the advantage mentioned above, I believe they are negated by the following problem. Because a film is not produced by large companies, there is no certainty of its quality. Digital technology can create unfeigned effects and images, which does not meet the standard and audiences’ requirements. Take Phuong Khau, a Vietnam film, as an example. In the scene which reproduces the coronation of Thieu Tri King, due to the lack of extras, filmmakers used digital technology to multiply the quantities of people. However, because of being processed carelessly, this scene on the screen leaves a major disappointment to audiences because it does not live up to their expectations.

In conclusion, although that technology allows anyone to produce a film has several benefits, I believe that they are outweighed by the problem mentioned above.