Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

With of advent of advanced technologies social liberation and fast-paced lifestyle, family structures have changed considerably to the environment they live in. Instead of residing with their young kids, senior citizen opts to live in a retirement centre. It is a positive development as it reduces loneliness which is common in old age and help in improving health issues as well.

To begin with, it is beneficial in many ways for citizens. Firstly, the loneliness that is one of the biggest difficulties of old age is automatically solved by retirement homes as people get to live with others of their generation and can socialize with other people can share their feeling, they have a common interest and many more. For instance, some people at this age never relate 21st-century topic discussion in many families, at the time of family gathering. They were felt more please and comfortable in bygone nostalgia and could very well mingle among people of their generation. Such a company of people being easily available in retirement homes helps their mental health to be a very good shape. Another merit is elderly people every time need specialised care and it would be only possible if they have good medical service. Retirement sector is equipped with professional to prove the need for their clientele. However these days adults do not have time to spend with them. To illustrate, in many families daughter and son both are working so they do not get enough time to look after their old parents due to their hectic schedule. Hence, the retirement community become better care of well being because they provide 24-hour medical care.

Finally, why older people need to reside in a retirement home because sometimes other members of the family do not behave properly with aged people. As the people age grown up their mental ability start get worsen but rather than accept this reality family behave rudely with them, as a result, they feel detachable and in this case, when they live in old folk's home, they get unwind atmosphere surrounded by their age generation people and also get independent life. As some sector provide small scale job in that sector only, for example, making a meal, making envelops, boxes so on through which they earn a small amount and live happily.

In conclusion, it is a great development for a senior citizen to stay at sheltered home because it not only provides basic necessity and medical help but also they can engage in various activity and with people by which they get happy and self-reliant life