People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions?

It is true that drinks containing sugars have gained increasing popularity among people, especially young children. While there are some underlying motives regarding this problem, I believe we can take steps to mitigate it.

There are two main reasons why there is a dramatic increase in the number of people having the habit of choosing sugar-based beverages. Firstly, as the advertising industry has developed at an unprecedented rate, citizens can easily get access to advertisements introducing a variety of sweet drinks and be attracted by promotions companies manufacturing sugar-based drinks offer. For example, Pepsi has been extremely successful in drawing the attention of consumers as its products are advertised everywhere, from streets to supermarkets. Secondly, it is undoubted that sugars that contain high levels of carbohydrates can make people feel much more refreshed and energetic, especially after they finish doing something physically demanding. This encourages people to pay for a sugar-contained drink rather than a bottle of water whenever they feel thirsty.

However, there are some actions that both government bodies and ordinary citizens can take to ameliorate this alarming issue. Firstly, governments should impose high taxes on these beverages so that manufacturers will take producing these harmful drinks on a large scale into consideration and buyers will hesitate to choose a sugary drink due to paying extra money for high taxes. Secondly, parents should control their children's buying habits in order to prevent them from spending too much on drinks containing high levels of sugars.

Overall, it can be concluded that the popularity of sugary beverages is mainly due to attractive advertisements and the benefits they bring to human energy, but there are still some measures that have the potential of tackling this problem.