People living in the twenti-first century have a better quality of life than people who live in previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In comtemporary society, it is generally believed that the development in a variety of aspects of the world has been facilitating the daily lives of people in the 21st century compares to ones’ of hundreds years ago. Personally, I totally concur with this statement.

On the one hand, the emergence of technological advancement has brought numerous breakthroughs to generate convenience for people’s life in the modern society. Firstly, the application of hi-tech devices produces significant productivity in education. To elaborate, various equipment such as projectors, speakers and computers are used in classrooms which enable teachers to deliver the lessons to students effectively with vivid illustrations when it comes to images or motion videos. As a result, these equipment are likely to engage them in the lesson resulting in a positive academic performance. Moreover, people residing in a modern era would find it unchallenging to have checkups when having health-related problems. To exemplify, hundreds of hospitals and clinics are established in metropolitan locations as well as small health centers in rural areas which allows patients to have immediate treatment instead of looking for natural remedies that are not recognized as effective. Therefore, the mortality rate might be reduced as people’s health conditions are well-followed as well as having proper therapies for emergencies.

On the other hand, those living in the past centuries tend to be healthier and happier because of the following reasons. First of all, they are less likely to get involved in respiratory diseases such as asthma or hypertension. Specifically, the ubiquity of industrial constructions including plants and factories was not as widespread as the present, which means the amount of carbon dioxide being released into the atmosphere was inconsiderable. Hence, the air quality back at that time seemed to be purer and people could have a stronger system of respiration. In addition to this, lives of hundred years ago might be more blissful without the interference of technology. This is because there were not much technological inventions such as smartphones or laptops for personal entertainment. Thus, they had no choice but to look for activities which they could have real-world interaction ranging from singing, dancing or even joining social activities.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that people in the twenty-first century have a more quality of life compared to those living in prior centuries because of having noticeable improvement in teaching techniques along with better health care services.