People who live in large cities face a range of problems in their daily life.

What are the main problems people in cities face, and how can these problems be tackled?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people residing in urban areas because they offer high living standards. However, living in such places can also be stressful, and this essay will discuss the challenges facing the citizens before suggesting possible measures to improve the quality of their lives.

One of the major problems of living in big cities may be the high property prices. For example, in major cities in Viet Nam such as Ho Chi Minh, the cost of a one-bedroom flat is so exorbitant that many people could not afford it. As a result, they are forced to live outside the center and commute to work. This could make their lives more stressful and inconvenient. To solve this problem, the government could invest more resources into building more affordable houses. This practice would allow more people to buy their own homes, making their lives easier.

Traffic and air pollution are other issues worth mentioning. Most mega-cities nowadays are overrun with cars and other private vehicles, which often leads to traffic congestion: a major source of drivers’ frustration. Moreover, exhaust fumes/emissions from these vehicles cause increased levels of pollution. As a consequence, more and more people are suffering from respiratory diseases, such as asthma and bronchitis. However, these problems could be addressed by imposing higher taxes on vehicles and introducing a congestion charge for drivers entering the center. By doing this, the amount of traffic would eventually decline, which helps reduce traffic jams and improve air quality.

To conclude, prohibitive living costs, high volumes of traffic, and air pollution are several main drawbacks of city life, which could be tackled by government supports such as more investments into low-price housing and introducing new laws to control traffic.