Prison is the only truly effective form of punishment, because it separates criminals

from society.

Prison from several years ago until now is known as a practice of punishment for delinquents and wrong-doer and it is seen in history of all nations. However, whether it is the mere way of reform to criminal or not is always a topical question. I personally believe prison could not be the only way which could punish people and making people separated from society is not a wise way. So I am going to delve deeply into this issue in this essay.

On the one hand, imprisonment would definitely result in numerous detrimental effects on people in long-term. Sometimes people are forced to spend a quarter or half of their life-time in prison for some issues which could be compensated by being presence in society. According to the latest survey in Iran sixty percent of prisoners are sentenced because of financial problems, although making them separated from society is an appropriate resolution for it. As long as people are in society they could work and strive for putting money aside in order to pay off their debt, of course this possibility could be met only by guidance and in-depth supervision of adept consultant.

On the contrary, some criminals that could be against safety and security of society ought to be imprisoned because Presence of these delinquents threatens life and properties of people constantly. Accordingly, the head of drug distributor those who plan and implement terrorist attack in countries should be faced with most severe sentences such as life imprisonment. Plus, For instance, someone in society commits crimes in line with benefits which result in a few casualties and sacrificing of innocent people. Reportedly, crimes such as murder or hostage taking are of kinds of delinquencies that could not be compensated. Nevertheless, In my point of view, there are a large number of crimes that does not need imprisonment.

To conclude, I think prison indeed is not only suitable way of punishment since it would contribute to huge negative effects on people who have committed small-scale and financial crimes. Conversely, criminals who are dangerous to communities should be kept in prison to have better society.