Q: Many animal species in the world are becoming extinct nowadays. Some people say that countries and individuals should protect these animals from dying out, while others say we should concentrate more on problems of human beings. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the preservation of animals has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that dealing with contemporary issues of mankind should take precedence over conservating animals, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people should not allow numerous species of animals to die out do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that preventing animals from going extinct plays a vital role in keeping biodiversity that is invaluable. In addition, if it were not for making an effort to protect living creatures, including wildlife, the food chain and ecosystem would be broken due to the disappearance of a myriad of endangered species of animals, exerting a detrimental influence on humans who are on the top of the food chain.

My opinion, however, is that in modern society, there are a number of important global issues which more emphasis should be placed on than the protection of animals that is not directly related to people's daily life. Perhaps the most pressing problem is global warming because it causes damage to people's well-being. To be more specific, a multitude of citizens across the globe are suffering from global warming hindering them from having an improved standard of living, which can even give rise to climate change. Another grave issue is global hunger that is directly related to the life of humans. As a brief illustration, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, approximately 17% of the world's population died due to poverty in 2015. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that conserving animals should not be a priority for the reasons discussed