Q16 : Research says more and more business traning and business meeting are taking place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, whether an increase in online meetings and sessions for employees is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to participating in business meetings on the Internet, these are outweighed by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that workers can benefit a great deal from partaking in online meetings and training sessions do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the development of technology has revolutionised the way people can take part in business meetings regardless of time and place as having access to the Internet is only needed. Furthermore, they are able to save time considering that commuting to and from work deprives them of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent on their work.

My opinion, however, is that holding online meetings for workers brings with it negatives. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that online meetings prevent working adults from receiving instant feedback from their colleagues, leading them to have difficulty concentrating on their meetings. In other words, a large number of working people are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of their duties, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their work performance. In addition, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for face-to-face meetings for employees, it would be nearly impossible for them to build a strong relationship with co-workers as well as senior managers helping them to develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future careers. To be more specific, mingling with others at the workplace enables them not only to feel a sense of belonging but also to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of attending business meetings on the Internet surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.