Q19. Developing countries require help offered by international organizations to ensure healthy and sustainable development. Some people think that financial aid is important. Others believe that practical aid and advice is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of how to support less-developed countries has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that financial help should take precedence over practical assistance and advice, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that third world countries can benefit a great deal from receiving financial support do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that an astronomical amount of money is required to construct a high quality of infrastructure, including railways and roads, which makes it possible for developing countries to invigorate economic growth. In fact, these nations are not able to build facilities without monetary help from global charities. Furthermore, a multitude of citizens in Africa are suffering from global hunger as well as a lack of basic necessities, such as primary education as well as balanced meals. If it were not for financial assistance for socially disadvantaged people, they would have difficulty leading a better life.

On the other hand, others contend that more emphasis should be placed on practical help and technical advice than monetary support. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that although it seems beneficial for global charitable foundations to provide poorer countries with vast sums of money in the short term, developed countries having invaluable skills and experiences derived from trial and error should teach these to emerging countries. This is because obtaining these skills and experiences enables third world countries not only to stimulate economic and political progress but also to become less dependent on other nations in the long term. In addition, the majority of less-developed countries are experiencing high levels of corruption preventing the masses from having an improved standard of living. If experts from global institutions give numerous pieces of useful advice, this phenomenon would be alleviated.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.