In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

In this modernized world, the father and mother’s role in a family changes significantly compared to the past and so does the family structure. In my opinion, this change has both advantages and disadvantages.

There is a list of transformations in the family structure. In the past, all families follow the patriarchy regime, which means the father or the oldest man in every family controlled everything, while women or the mother has no position in the families. Even when having dinner, women and children could not sit in the same position with male. When a father died, the eldest son dominated in the family, not the wife. Men had authority to go to school and educated, while women must stay at home to do housework and did not have condition to study. But now everything has changed. Today, more and more kinds of family structures are made. Women have the right to head and manage everything. Both men and women have responsibility to cultivate family happiness. Not only patriarchy and matriarchy but also single dad and single mom starts appearing. A family also can be formed with only a father or only a mother. There are some homes having no parents, only have grandparents and children, which are also recognized as a family.

The variety of family structures in this innovated society makes significant benefits. Matriarchy proves the renovation of women’s role in this society, even these days a single woman can take on well whole the family. However, there is a drawback in this situation. Children might not be able to feel the love from both mother and father when a huge amount of single-parents families happened. Or, children who have widowed mother or father will lost the way of beloved from the other.

In conclusion, the gigantic number of family structures happened cause benefits and risks to the society.