In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles.

What types of changes are occurring?

Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

The family has been the basic unit of social structure since ancient times. However, in the past few decades, the patterns of a family have experienced a dramatic change concerning the organization and roles of members. I am strongly convinced that these adjustments could bring about more advantages than disadvantages.

To begin with, the structure of a family is relatively different compared to that in the past. These days, many households have a tendency to reduce their family size to just only two generations shared the same house. This is in sharp contrast to the earlier periods when a majority of families are extended households with three generations or more including parents, their offspring, and other near relatives.

Furthermore, in recent years, the shift in roles of both spouses could be seen more often. Traditionally, while men are deemed to be the breadwinner, the dominating social role of women is as housewives, fully focus on the household chores and taking care of the family. However, in the modern world, both men and women could join the workforce to provide for the whole family, whereas household tasks are often equally divided.

Such changes, however, could be advantageous to modern society. Firstly, having fewer members in a family, the privacy, freedom, and convenience of each individual could be preserved. In a household, individuals could have a myriad of pastimes. So as not to disrupt other members, providing each individual with their own space is crucial. More importantly, employed women can help ease the financial burden and raise their household income. With the emergence of a supplementary source of earnings, the living standard of that family, therefore, would be raised.

To conclude, there are many significant changes in how a family is organized and the roles each member plays. However, I believe that alteration is justified and many families, as well as human society in general, could reap various benefits associated.