In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

It is certainly true that, number of family members and their roles have changed continuously in recent year. This essay will suggest that, independent family decision is the biggest advantage of this and reduce family bonding to strengthen the family relation is the primary drawbacks.

With regards to the positive concern, people nowadays are more conscious regarding nuclear family size and their positive impact on individual decision making process. Nuclear family stand out with less numbers where closeness among the members can exist and it will further helpful to solve the family problems. On top up this, each member can have the access of family information and they can independently make a family decision which is direct beneficial to the family concern as well as to the self. As a result of that, more happiness among the family member can be seen which may not be happen in joint family system. A recent study conducted by Tribhuwan University found that, people from nuclear family are more free and happy with their decision making process then the other type of family.

Those oppose to this say that, limited number of members within the family have to fulfill the need of the family and they get very less time to support their family at the time of need. People in this competitive world have to pay enough time in regards to fulfill the professional responsibility and they get multiple stress relating to fulfilling the job duties along with the need of dependent children within the home. As a consequent of that, head of the family members in certain time feel very poor relating to the personal obligation for not being able to support their family in timely manner.

In conclusion, small size of family members in the nuclear family system would have more freedom to make independent decision as an advantage whereas the level of trust will be decline among the members as a significant drawbacks.