schools should focus more on teaching students how to succeed in the world of work and less on how to succeed academically. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is a significant part of humanity which is the key to a better life. It is claimed that students need to concentrate on learning soft skills that would be necessary for the world of work rather than focusing on theoretical knowledge. From my point of view, I partly agree with this statement and I will discuss my opinion below.

On the one hand, today’s world is such a competitive place. In order to get a high-paying job, students not only need to impart academic knowledge, but they also need to prepare for the real world. Schools should facilitate learners to practice more soft skills such as communication, critical thinking, leadership that will benefit them in the future or organize many activities that help them gain practical experience. Plus, pupils who have outstanding grades in class, if they are not equipped with some soft skills, might struggle to excel in their chosen field. Besides, someone with practical knowledge would easily make a positive impression on employers.

On the other hand, practical skills are not the only thing to succeed but academic knowledge is indispensable. Additionally, it is important for students to receive theoretical knowledge that is essential for their future jobs, as people have to learn some basic information before practicing. Moreover, some careers, such as those in medicine, require academic knowledge. Their failure to study it well could result in errors on the part of patients.

To conclude, according to the opinion above, it would be better if they learned practical and theoretical knowledge simultaneously for a high-end job.