In some cities, the government is trying to reduce traffic, for example by tax vehicles more on rush hour. Is this a positive or negative development?

In several urban areas, authorities are implementing changes to reduce traffic, specifically by taxing vehicles at a higher rate during peak hours. Personally, I believe this development is highly positive because humans and society would experience different levels of positivity.

On the one hand, the governments’ efforts to lower transport usage will help to protect the environment. In fact, it is widely known that transportation accounts for a considerable portion of fuels being used. Also, since cosmopolitan areas have witnessed a rise in the number of transports as a result of the growth in population, promulgating policies to decrease traffic can bring about a drop in fossil energy consumption. Besides, the emissions from cars are likely to fall dramatically. Consequently, the move towards lesser cities’ traffic can save natural resources and harness air pollution.

On the other hand, governments’ decision to lessen vehicle amounts may lead to a reduction in accidents. To be specific, accidents are usually associated with personal transports and traffic congestion, especially in the rush hours. For instance, by taxing vehicles more at this time, people can feel the urge to make use of public transport instead, reducing the number of vehicles on the roads and traffic jams. Therefore, accidents can decrease greatly.

To conclude, in regard to the current practice of hindering the proportion of vehicles in the cities, I endorse the hypothesis that this phenomenon is beneficial for its tremendous advantages. Not only it is able to save the nature and atmosphere but it also reduces accidents.