Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, some nations allow the elderly to work to any age that they want. While there are some undeniable benefits of this trend, I believe that its drawbacks should not be overlooked.

On the one hand, the participation of the elderly in the workforce brings several positive aspects. For one, the elderly are people who have gained a great amount of experience and knowledge throughout their careers. This means hiring such experienced people may increase labor productivity as seniors are used with their works. Moreover, when the young and the old work together, it enables junior to acquire working skills from their seniors. Finally, allowing people to work without the limitation of age helps them to make more money to prepare for their retirements, especially for those who have little to no pension.

By contrast, there are some noteworthy negative aspects of this trend. Firstly, letting the elderly to work longer than they should may result in an abundance of workers. Along with the increasing rate of birth, the young may find it hard to seek for an occupation because the workforce tends to hire the old who are more skillful. As a consequence, the unemployment rate would rise. Secondly, the majority of old people do not have the right health conditions to work. Thus, if they keep on doing their work, it may lead to health problems that may impact their expectancy. Therefore, the balance in the workforce will be affected.

To sum up the essay, I reaffirm that although enabling the old to work to any age brings various advantages, its disadvantages are of great concern.