In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing, and their level of health and fitness is decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems, and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Nowadays, the average person's weight witnesses an increasing trend while their level of health and fitness is declining. The following paragraphs will discuss the major causes of these issues and propose some measures to alleviate these.

Almost all workers have a sedentary lifestyle, which consists of just sitting on a chair and working behind a desk. In comparison to before the advent of technology, people are doing fewer activities during the day, which directly results in a decrease in amounts of their bodies' metabolism, and they are gaining weight. In addition, people have to work from early in the morning to late at night, which obliges them to be away from any activities. For example, a worker who works 8 to 10 hours daily consistently does not have enough energy and time to do any exercise to improve his fitness. Consequently, his health level will decline, and he will be prone to getting many cardiovascular diseases.

Governments can make some compulsory rules to force workers to do some exercise during their working hours. For example, obliging every company to allocate a particular daily time for their employees to do physical activities, whereas workers who refuse to do these activities will face a certain penalty, such as reducing their salaries. In addition, increasing public awareness about the importance of doing regular activities and the consequences of getting fat will be another option, which can encourage people to increase their level of health. For example, distributing many papers among workers which include tips about how workers can have a healthy lifestyle by doing regular daily exercise.

To sum up, because of a sedentary lifestyle and lack of spare time to exercise, the average weight of people is increasing, and their level of health is declining, although there are many options which can change these trends.