In some countries, more and more adults are continuing to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Today there is an increasing number of adults living with their mothers and fathers despite having completed studying or started a career. This essay will argue that although living under the same roof with families comes with many burdens, the benefit of saving a lot of money can far outweigh any drawbacks

When people decide to live with their parents despite maturity, it will put a strain on the family themselves. That is to say that instead of staying in rented accommodations, the expense on food and facilities will rise, and the internal space will be reduced, hence, the discomfort is unavoidable. For example, a government recent report showed that families have to spend an extra 30% amount of money for every one adult in a house. However, I believe this burden can be alleviated because adults can support their families with the money from salary, as they are grown-up and can earn money from society.

Living with parents can save a lot of money for the future life of an adult. It is undeniably that renting or buying a house or a flat will cost an enormous amount of money, not to mention the furniture expenditure and the living expenses. Choosing to stay in parents’ houses can help adults save money for the long-term future, when they are in marriage or retired. For example, after living separately from parents, my sister spent 15 years paying by monthly instalment to own a house, instead of only 10 years if she stayed with parents. I believe this opportunity is conducive to the future life and will be accepted by many mothers and fathers

In conclusion, the chance of saving a lot of money far outweighs the supposed disadvantage of creating burdens, while continuing living with parents despite being matured.