Some people believe that children should not be given homework every day, while others believe that they must get homework every day in order to be successful at school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is suggested that children should be provided with homework on a daily basis in order to become academically successful. Others, however, think that it is not a wise option in the educational system. In my opinion, while homework is beneficial for children to some extent, I believe that this trend would have a psychological effect on them.

According to people’s perspective, homework should be compulsory at formal schooling because children are more likely to remember information better. While doing homework, they could revise pieces of information conveyed by teachers and thus the more homework they do, the more information they gain. At the same time, doing homework contributes to greater performance among children as they know exactly how to solve mathematics or physics homework, which leads them to become more active and confident to make a contribution in class.

However, apart from the reasons expressed above, I believe that providing homework on a regular basis for children can be even more damaging because of the psychological effect. Upon finishing formal lessons at school, children requiring to do homework instead of providing recreational activities are more likely to experience a sense of stress and pressure. This type of existence is associated with demotivation and discouragement, all of which increases the susceptibility of mental illnesses such as depression, panic, and anxiety. Consequently, this would have a counterproductive effect on children and reduce performance in class.

In conclusion, although providing homework including the benefit of absorbing information better should be introduced to children every day, I, however, believe that an excessive amount of homework on a daily basis would contribute to mental illnesses among children.