Some people believe that crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that it is the responsibility of poverty and undesirable aspects of the community for triggering crime while others argue that this phenomenon should be attributable to human’s improper personalities. I personally think that both factors play important roles in causing illegal actions.

It is conceivable that social drawbacks and poverty could lead to people engaging in illegal activities. Firstly, there is an ever-increasing number of misleading and shallow television programs resorting to sensational criminals to increase viewership that stimulates violence and crime rate. If people watch these programs on a regular basis, they can be more likely to imitate those cases, especially teenagers, who can not have full cognitive developments at that age. Secondly, so traumatic is the social status quo that people sometimes inevitably break the law for their survival. In other words, pay gap, sexual segregation, miscarriage of justice, corruption and so on, are those which force underprivileged people to turn to crime for an income.

However, personal characteristics are undoubtedly key factors contributing to crime’s prevalence. Specifically, as opposed to the miserable who have to perpetrate a crime reluctantly, there are numerous individuals who break the law solely owing to the lack of willingness to work and earn legal income. For example, recently, several convenient stores in Viet Nam like Family Mart and Circle K have to suffer from armed burglars at an alarming rate. These culprits have many driving forces such as gambling, drugs addiction and they enjoy their comfortable, unemployed lives to the detriment of others.

To conclude, I am of the opinion that crime should not solely the matter deriving from society’s demerits, individuals’ unacceptable nature should obviously be taken into consideration.