Some people believe that giving aid to poorer countries has more negative effects than positive effects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that supporting developing nations brings more drawbacks than benefits. While I find this pointview appropriate to some extent, I also argue that aids can be beneficial for both poor and developed worlds.

One the one hand, I can understand why there are adverse effects when it comes to help coming from wealthy countries. It is no denying that nations receiving those aids will have a depent tendency on their own socio-economy. People will tend to wait for support from outside instead of managing to address their problems. For example, African nations’ economy is boosted by those foreign supplies of finance rather than by their own progress. The inhabitants and governments cannot enhance their local products or traditional crafts because of reliance on significant funds from other nations.

On the other hand, I am convinced that it is worth giving help from developed worlds to developing ones. Firstly, those support can be considered an incentive for poor nations to allocate it in order to improve road and medical facilities and their citizens’ life conditions, which is able to create some opportunities to attract foreign investors’ attention. Furthermore, helping other nations will likely be a helpful action for global development. There was no way to prevent the Covid-19 pandemic spreading around the world resulting in serious outcomes, if the wealthy countries did not support finance, medicine and food for the rest of the world.

In conclusion, giving help to poor nations causes negative impacts such as dependence on those support. However, I believe that it can bring some general growth for not only developing but also developed countries.