Some people think that developed countries have a higher responsibility to combat climate change than developing countries. Others believe that all countries should have the same responsibilities towards protecting the environment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that environmental issues have been a hot debate in recent times. While many people argue that the wealthy nations should take account of global warming rather than waiting for the poor countries to participate. I personally believe that the responsibilities towards conserving the environment should be taken equally by all countries in the world.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why the developed world should take more responsibilities than the developing one. To make their nation’s economy thrive, they have been exploiting natural resources for many centuries, which has led to many extremely serious problems such as climate change. There is no denying that almost all large manufactures and megacities which have made a significant contribution to increasing CO2 emission and globally glass housing are belonging to the rich nations. Furthermore, the developed countries are more likely to have enough financial sources and professionals to create the best policies in terms of environmental conservation. It would be more effective for the powerful authorities to implement those policies in order to limit the adverse impacts on the environment.

On the other hand, it seems to me that protecting the environment should be the responsibility of each country. In fact, most of the developing countries are suffering from pollution and deforestation for both farming and industrial development more than the developed ones. Not only do the wealthy nations have strict laws to protect the environment, but the developing countries also enter their own regulations which are suitable with their conditions and wishes. For example, the huge manufactures located in the remote places, regardless of being managed by the wealthy areas, would follow the laws if the local governments are able to supervise and ensure their implementation about environmental protection. It seems to be obvious that more people tend to raise their awareness about the environment. As a result, countries caring about problems related to the environment could be evaluated more highly, which is gradually becoming typical symbols in the world.

In conclusion, I find many strong arguments that environmental protection should be the responsibility of all people over the world, however, the developed nations could contribute more to help maintain the beauty of our Earth.