Some people believe that success in sports depends on physical ability while others believe that there are more important factors involved in success in sports. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Views vary on whether an athlete's physical talent or several other factors contribute the most to his achievements. From my perspective, to have a thriving sports career, one not only should obtain a well-based physique but also needs other elements, particularly mental strength and the mastery of skills.

On the one hand, physical prowess undeniably plays a vital role in sports achievements in competitions since the essence of sports is enhancing strength, including stamina and muscle flexibility. The more physical strength an athlete can build up, the higher possibility of surpassing their competitors he may have. Contests of individual sports, such as marathons, golf, boxing and swimming, can be good examples to illustrate this point. To explain more specifically, although those competitions require power from different body parts (mainly arms or legs), all reach the same consensus that only those with the best physical conditions can gain victory.

On the other hand, besides physical ability, other factors also contribute to success in sports. One of them has to be mental endurance. It appears to be a fact that not every athlete takes part in a match in a particular competition with the best health. His physique might have injuries caused in the previous rounds, which is not beneficial to his performance. At this point, his mental toughness is critical as it would help the athlete temporarily forget about the pain to maintain the best performance. In addition, skill mastery is essential to a victory in a sports competition and even a successful sports career. People often think that those with ideal physiques continuously use the skills they learn fluently, but it seems inaccurate when an athlete cannot control the body without rhyme or reason. Therefore, practising skills should be aligned with building good physical conditions instead of being neglected.

In conclusion, the two viewpoints mentioned above are rational, and I think that success in sports should be a combination of physical prowess and other factors, including mental toughness and the mastery of skills.