Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a

useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games

are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your

opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

With the advent of technology, the modern world is emerging out with a myriad of innovative digital games that can easily be played on a variety of electronic devices. The school of thought that these numerous inventions in the form of video games, which have engulfed the whole world, are nothing more than a distracting resource, however, many others oppose this idea in the favor of gazillion benefits it can have on cognitive development. This essay would endeavor to shed some light on the driving thoughts behind this mentality, followed by my personal perspective on the same.

To begin with, it is irrefutable fact that in this era of digitization, new technologies are experiencing a warm welcome in almost all the fields such as healthcare, education, shopping, etc. Besides this, the technical advancement in the educational field in the form of video games has helped a lot to change the overall learning experience. For instance, the emergence of Augmented reality in educational games have enriched and enlightened the approach of learning. Moreover, it has proved to be extremely helpful in boosting the concentration level resulting in improved participation.

On the contrary, the adverse bearings of the over-reliance on this technical boom can not be overlooked. First of all, due to its addiction, people usually end up being exhausted and with disrupted physical, mental, and emotional health. Secondly, over-dependency on these gadgets and associated games are highly synonymous with the deviation from the social circle. For example, people under its colossal impact often forget to spend quality time with their loved ones. Hence, the end result leaves a person restricted only within a limited boundary.

To conclude, although the views regarding the efficacy of video games vary largely among the masses, however, in my opinion, it is erroneous to believe that video games are all bad. So, a balanced approach not only helps in gaining a rich experience from these indispensable technologies but also secure us from its shortcomings.