some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that ecomomic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about economic development whether it solely turn down the rate of poverty or the scale of environmental pollution would be exacerbated. In this essay, from my point of view, I believe that economic growth has either merits or demerits toward the environment and poverty alleviation.

On the one hand, it is a common belief that a well-rounded economy in one nation plays an important role to ensure wealth and sustainable enhancement. This is because economic advancement not only creates tons of job vacancies, which may put an end to the rate of unemployment but also enhances citizens’ living conditions. More importantly, with a view to mitigating the state of starvation, there is no doubt that the government has the extraordinary financial ability to trickle down to the less fortunate. Thus, the lower classes who cannot afford the basic necessities of life can have better lives.

On the other hand, there is no doubt that environmental deterioration results from economic growth. To be more specific, it is true that heavy industry is the main reason for climate change which renders negative impacts on ecosystems, especially, numerous marine species have died and the acreage of icebergs has been shrunk. Nevertheless, a more persuasive measure rather than stopping economic growth is that the government should impose a more stricter policy toward some businesses for irresponsible activities on the environment. Thus, this measure may ensure either human well-being or diverse nature.

In conclusion, although economic enhancement can render several negative effects on the ecosystems, it still plays an indispensable part in the development of civilization. However, the natural protective should be on the top priority and the government and individuals take responsibility for conserving.