Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is often argued that it is important for children to attend art classes, whereas some people believe that art is totally useless. In my opinion, I think that taking art classes can have a positive impact on children’s growth.

First and foremost, studying art can affect how a pupil views the world and encourages them to think in a more creative way. This can be beneficial to their future careers. Furthermore, unlike subjects such as math, where students need to think logically in order to solve difficult problems, creating art requires students to be more imaginative and flexible. For instance, in today’s knowledge-based economy, compound talents are the most popular traits most interviewers look for in interviewees. A school curriculum built around a diversity of subjects is absolutely needed to develop such compound talents in students. Taking art classes also offer a great opportunity for pupils to learn more about other cultures. That is because art reflects a nation’s history, literature and music, and students will be more open minded after studying art.

On the other hand, having art lessons can be stressful for children, if they are simply added to the many subjects, they have to learn at school today. In China, for example, a large proportion of junior high school students often have to spend ten to twelve hours a day studying subjects such as physics, math and languages. Studying art lessons in addition to the current curriculum, would reduce a student’s recreation time, and probably increase their stress.

To sum up, additional art classes might be stressful to children at school, but I believe it will be beneficial for them in the long run as students develop divergent and critical thinking while learning how to manage their time. Personally, I believe that art classes would be indispensable in school education